Officers of the Society
President Daniel Durgavich
Vice President Rohan Ahluwalia
Secretary Daniel Jachim
Treasurer Varun Sharma
Historian Maddie Shaw
Room Seven Resident Jack Chellman
AIG Chair Olivier Weiss
Probationary Chair Anne Greenberg
Membership Chair Alex Heyer
Ways & Means Chair Monica Sebastian
Pen & Ink Chair Xara Davies
Debate & Oratory Chair Michael Marrow
Restoration Ball Chair Kirsta Hackmeier
Public Services Chair Elizabeth Fadl
Parliamentarian Henry Knight
Sergeant-At-Arms Sid Shenoy
History of the Society

The Jefferson Literary and Debating Society was founded on July 14, 1825, and is the oldest organization at the University of Virginia.

Joining the Society

The Society will conduct interviews at the beginning of the Fall 2018 Semester.

Reserving the Hall

The Jefferson Society manages reservations of Jefferson Hall.

The Society in the Community

The Jefferson Society is proud of the service its members provide for the community. New Society members have a mandatory public service requirement, and the Society has a long history of contributing to the Charlottesville and University communities.

Upcoming Events

Speaker: Spring 2018 Speaker Series: Cale Jaffe

Cale Jaffe is director of the Environmental and Regulatory Law Clinic. Prior to joining the faculty at the University of Virginia, Jaffe was an attorney with the Southern Environmental Law Center, a leading environmental law and policy organization working at national, state and local levels. From 2013 to 2016, he was director of the center’s Virginia office. He was part of the SELC team that won a unanimous victory before the Supreme Court of the United States in Environmental Defense v. Duke Energy, 549 U.S. 561 (2007), and he has litigated numerous energy-related cases before the Virginia State Corp. Commission.

Friday, February 23rd, at 7:29 PM in Jefferson Hall